Watertown: 920-261-1630 | Lake Mills: 920-648-8381
Areas of Practice
Creditor & Debtor Rights
Creditor and debtor rights deal with asserting a creditor's or debtor's rights in state and federal courts. Failure by either a creditor or a debtor to timely assert their rights typically will result in those rights being forever lost. As to debtors, these rights include limitations on what collectors and creditors can do to attempt to collect money and defending against lawsuits, garnishments, repossessions, receiverships, foreclosures and other similar matters. As to creditors, pursuing their rights include legal collection methods, negotiating with debtors, and obtaining payment through judgments, mortgage foreclosure, land contract foreclosure, commercial arbitration, liens, garnishments or other methods.

The attorneys of Neuberger, Griggs, Sweet & Smith, LLP have extensive experience in representing creditors and debtors involved in a variety of financial transactions. Our attorneys provide a full range of creditor and debtor services, including the following:
  • Financing origination, including loan documents, letters of credit, and due diligence
  • Loan workouts and modification
  • Deed-in-lieu transactions
  • Repossession/replevin
  • Representation in bankruptcy matters
  • Forbearance agreements
  • Debt negotiations
  • Collections
  • Garnishments
  • Judgment enforcement
  • Receivership
  • Contractor/mechanics liens
  • Foreclosure
  • Other creditor and debtor issues
For a consultation with Neuberger, Griggs, Sweet & Smith, LLP, please contact us.
George L. Neuberger, Jr.
Andrew R. Griggs
Mark S. Sweet
Jay S. Smith
Nicole N. Schrier
Ethan C. Geis

Neuberger, Griggs, Sweet & Smith, LLP has served clients from our offices in Watertown and Lake Mills since 1922. Our firm regularly serves clients located in Dodge County, Jefferson County, Dane County, Columbia County, Washington County, and Waukesha County, the communities of the Watertown, Lake Mills, Waterloo, Johnson Creek, Reeseville, Ixonia, Oconomowoc, Sullivan, Jefferson, Cambridge, Columbus, Deerfield, Marshall, Juneau, Fort Atkinson, Beaver Dam, Hartford, Madison, Sun Prairie, Monona Grove, Cottage Grove, McFarland, Stoughton, Edgerton, Delafield, Pewaukee, Dousman, Hartland, Brookfield, and Waukesha, and all of Wisconsin.