Neuberger, Griggs, Sweet & Froehle, LLP

Former Partner John A. Neupert Passes Away

John A. Neupert, former partner with Neuberger, Griggs, Sweet & Smith, LLP, passed away on February 15, 2015.

Atty. Neupert received his high school diploma from Lake Mills High School in 1950, his bachelor’s degree from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1955, and his juris doctor from the University of Wisconsin Law School in 1962. From 1964 to 1968, he served as District Attorney for Jefferson County. Afterwards he began practicing law in Lake Mills with Robert Ferry and, in 1974, began practicing with Thomas O. Wakeman. Their firm ultimately merged with another to create what is today known as Neuberger, Griggs, Sweet & Smith, LLP. Atty. Neupert retired from the practice of law in 1997, but remained active in the day to day operation of the Bank of Lake Mills, where he served as a member of the Board of Directors since 1967 and president since 1970.

During his extraordinary life, Atty. Neupert also served as a member of the Board of Directors and as president of L.D. Fargo Library for almost 50 years. He was on the Civil Service Commission, the Highway Safety Committee, and served on the Board of the Lake Mills Emergency Medical Service. In addition, Atty. Neupert was on the Board for the Jefferson County Humane Society, was past president and member of the Lake Mills Rotary, and was Board Director for 11 years for Fort Memorial Hospital. Finally, Atty. Neupert retired as a Captain after 22 years combined in the U.S. Navy and Naval Reserves.

The attorneys and staff of Neuberger, Griggs, Sweet & Smith, LLP wish to express their deepest condolences to Atty. Neupert’s entire family. Memorial services will be held at 3:00 p.m. on Saturday, February 21, 2015 at United Methodist Church in Lake Mills.

Neuberger, Griggs, Sweet & Smith, LLP has served clients from our offices in Watertown and Lake Mills since 1922. Our firm regularly serves clients located in Dodge County, Jefferson County, Dane County, Columbia County, Washington County, and Waukesha County, the communities of the Watertown, Lake Mills, Waterloo, Johnson Creek, Reeseville, Ixonia, Oconomowoc, Sullivan, Jefferson, Cambridge, Columbus, Deerfield, Marshall, Juneau, Fort Atkinson, Beaver Dam, Hartford, Madison, Sun Prairie, Monona Grove, Cottage Grove, McFarland, Stoughton, Edgerton, Delafield, Pewaukee, Dousman, Hartland, Brookfield, and Waukesha, and all of Wisconsin.

The materials on this website are provided for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice. These materials are intended, but not promised or guaranteed to be current, complete, or up-to-date and should in no way be taken as an indication of future results. Transmission of the information is not intended to create, and the receipt does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship between sender and receiver. You should not act or rely on any information contained in this website without first seeking the advice of an attorney.


Scroll to Top